Yes, I’m From Brazil


Image

Yes, I’m from Brazil and for heaven’s sake, I couldn’t dance samba to save my life. I do not support any football team; I do not watch TV because I love reading. I speak Portuguese (and a great deal of English). I’ve never been to the forest; I am an urban creature who lives in one of the biggest cities of the world. Yes, São Paulo is in Brazil not in Argentina and Buenos Aires is definitely not the capital of my country. Yes, I have to tell you that ‘feijoada’ is really delicious (you should try it with ‘caipirinha’) and that our coffee really tastes like coffee. Just in case you’re afraid of being mugged, you have to fear our politicians, much more than our people (like any other country, by the way). Brazilian music is fascinating and yes, we have all sorts of landscapes here from jungle to incredible modern cities besides spots that can remind you of heaven. Before I forget, I don’t have macaws in my backyard and I hate thinking they’re on the verge of extinction.

Yes, I recommend  http://yes-butno.tumblr.com/

7 Comments

Filed under English Language Teaching

7 responses to “Yes, I’m From Brazil

  1. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in truth was a entertainment account it. Glance complicated to far delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how can we keep in touch?

  2. It’s not stupidity that causes does silly questions or assumptions; nor it is malice. It’s the third greatest curse of humanity, which is lazy thinking. Speaking and behaving conforming to schemes and stereotypes is easier and often make people feel more secure.

  3. Kemelli

    Adorei! I loved it!

  4. I would just like to let you know that you are not alone! In my travels around the world I have come across some truly hilarious questions regarding South Africa – and Africa in general – some that would make me weep if I didn’t have a sense of humour🙂

  5. d

    I’m not from Brazil, but I wish I was.
    There’s a huge issue with your Amazon forest guys, and you all need to come together and help to protect our nature, as the ocean levels are rising and New York is being flooded, it will only get worse if we let the authorities to corrupt the nature.
    Please sign a petition to help to save the Amazon, it is much more important issue than people realize, and me as a non-Brazilian can not do anything about that.
    Please don’t choose to be arrogant, you inhabit this planet as well and every one’s name is very important. A sea contains of millions of drops of water which need to come together.
    I Thank you and very much appreciate your involvement, for standing up for innocent animals and forests.

    sign here: http://www.theamazonismyfriend.org/

    Please share.

Leave a Reply

